Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

The end of the war

leave a comment »

Grave of the fireflies

Grave of the fireflies

Today is anniversary of Japan’s World War II surrender. Every year in August I cannot help but thank the peace we enjoy. Especially now that I have a son, I am so happy that we live in peace. My baby is Japanese, British and Australian at the same time. Only 64 years ago, it was unthinkable. Daigo is a symbol of peace.

On such day as 15 August, I would like to recommend you to watch or read:

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, written by John Boyne

The Reader, written by Bernhard Schlink

The Lives of Others, directed by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck

Barefoot Gen, written by Keiji Nakazawa

Grave of the Fireflies, written by Akiyuki Nosaka

It is painful to read or watch them. When I was eight or nine years old, I watched a movie Barefoot Gen and I still cannot forget the terror which stung my heart.

Difference is wonderful. Disagreement is beautiful. Without them, it is impossible to learn about our world and ourselves. The only question is how we deal with them. We all make mistakes. But as the world develops, more and more people are aware that it is wrong to unreasonably hurt others. I do believe that our world is getting better. We live in the web of information that flies with speed of light. It is difficult to hide terror done upon our neighbors, which used to be easily possible only 50 years ago.

As a mother, the small contribution that I can make is to try and raise my baby as a confident, kind and compassionate person who understands other’s pain and can share his happiness with others.

Written by chiekot

August 15, 2009 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

