Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

Raising funds for UNICEF

with 2 comments

Conch (2004), Chieko Tagami

Conch (2004), Chieko Tagami

Shirley Maclaine said, “I don’t think there is difference really between what you feel you have to do in your heart, and success. They are inseparable.” If she is right, the evening of the opening of my first solo exhibition was a big success.

Two of my dreams came true: one is holding a solo exhibition, and the other is raising funds for a good cause through the exhibition. This time, we raised AUD 175 for UNICEF. People who gathered the opening party showed their generousity and helped raising funds for welfare of children. I always wished to contribute people with limited / no access to safe drinking water through my work and exhibition. I would like to donate the funds for Water and Sanitation Appeal and thank those who came to the party, donated for the funds, and those who helped me to organize and set up the exhibition in such a short time.

The photo is the prize of the raffle for the funds. This Conch was modeled after a tiny conch that I found at the beach where I went with my family when I was a small child. The work carries my happy childhood memory. I hope this contribution which so many people participated will bring happiness to children of the world, too.

Written by chiekot

June 11, 2009 at 1:50 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey congratulations on holding your solo show! That’s awesome! Wish I could have come! This is beautiful work. And it was for a good cause too -you really are one of the truly good persons of this world. I am sure you have many guardian angels looking down on you and your baby. Daigo is just adorable ^^

    Sakura

    July 5, 2009 at 3:26 pm

  2. Hi Sakura! I wish you were there. It is so encouraging to hear your nice comment about my work and myself! But I think that the truly good persons are the people who nurtured me and helped me. This time again I got great help from so many people. Nothing was possible without them. I feel that I don’t deserve it… I am blessed. Hope everything is well with you! I know wonderful guardian angels are with you, too!

    chiekot

    July 5, 2009 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

