Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

Si

with 2 comments

 

Si (2008) made by Chieko Tagami
Si (2008) made by Chieko Tagami

Si means “four” in Japanese, and at the same time it can mean “death”. Therefore, often Japanese avoid the number four, just like some Christians may avoid thirteen. There are four boxes, and at the same time the work is about life and death.

It is again about chrysanthemum. The flowers on the lids connote surface beauty and its loss, meaning what one can see, and the bottom of the boxes show the inner truth. When a life ends, the life reaches in fact the highest point of the life.

This is the piece that I was working on in my blog until the day before my child was born.  I had Braxton Hicks contractions since I wrote this blog on 5 November, and it seems that I had real labour when I was finishing up this piece.  I just tried to think that it was Braxton Hicks, as I was too busy!  It was strange yet profound experience that I was working on “death” when I was about to give birth to life.

lid 1

lid 1

box 1

box 1

 

lid 2

lid 2

box 2

box 2

 

lid 3

lid 3

box 3

box 3

 

lid 4

lid 4

box 4

box 4

Written by chiekot

April 15, 2009 at 11:06 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. わー!すごいカワイイ!!!

    tara

    April 21, 2009 at 9:52 pm

  2. One thing you don’t get from these photos is the beautiful stripes and waves in the sides of the boxes. They really lend a wonderful sense of atmosphere to the boxes – you don’t really know what’s in them or what shape it has, like smoke swirling mysteriously.

    They are lovely work, Chieko! Keep it up!

    Paul Wayper

    June 14, 2009 at 9:22 am


Leave a Reply

