Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

Express yourself

with 2 comments

 
 
 

Daigo Alasdair

Daigo Alasdair

It is not really about art.  I have to express myself (meaning my breast milk) every three hours now.

 

On November 9, 2008, my son Daigo Alasdair was born.  He came out to this world 45 minutes after I arrived at the hospital.  It was the easiest and fastest delivery you could ever imagine.  When he was still in my tummy, I kept telling him, ‘I do not want long and painful labour and delivery.  Easy and quick one please :)  And please wait until my assessments are over.”  So he made it so easy for me.  I just let Daigo and my body do the job, and it happened so naturally and beautifully in such a short time. 

 

Daigo arranged everything for me.  He was born a day after my final assessment.  Although he was born a week before the due date, he was born so small (2370 g) and probably it was one of the reasons why the delivery was so easy.  Since he was so tiny and had low blood sugar, he was admitted to the special care nursery.  Even so, he was very healthy – his blood sugar level quickly recovered and his weight increased dramatically.  In the meantime, I could learn many things about babies, which I had no clue.  I was hanging around in the nursery taking care of Daigo for 20 hours a day for 10 days.  I hardly slept but somehow I could manage, because throughout my pregnancy, I never really slept anyway.  Daigo deserves my effort, care and love.

 

It is touching to realize how such a little baby could love parents unconditionally.  He tries to do everything I want him to do.  When I asked him to get out of the nursery and go home together with me, he tried so hard to have milk as much as possible.  Everyone was surprised that his weight increased rapidly, although usually a newborn decreases weight initially.  I am terrified with crying babies and my boy is the most peaceful baby I have ever seen.  He never really cries except when he is hungry (as long as he is in my arms, he is quiet) or when I change his nappies.  He loves my guests and he is never cranky when my friends pass him around. 

 

I could never imagine myself being so happy taking care of a baby.  It is not me who is raising my little boy, but it is Daigo who is raising me.  

 

This is the first music Daigo listened in the hospital.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qep59A_RwKQ&feature=related

 

Written by chiekot

November 25, 2008 at 10:38 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Happy Birthday!! Daigo and “Mama”chieko!
    How lovely story! Congratulations!!!!!!
    Hope to see you soon!

    sendding with lots of LOVE xxx

    P.S. if you can send to Email to me,plesase send it, anytime.

    Ena

    November 26, 2008 at 2:39 am

  2. Thank you Ena chan!

    I am the happiest & healthiest mother in the world (on the day 5, I went to a party, since Dai-chan was taken care in the nursery🙂. I will notify folks in Japan thru Mixi in Dec.

    lots of love & hugs from a new mommy

    chiekot

    November 27, 2008 at 7:03 am


Leave a Reply

