Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

Pregnant woman wearing fire-proof gear

leave a comment »

Chieko taking flower pots out of kiln

Chieko taking flower pots out of kiln

Now I am already 38 weeks pregnant.  And what I did today (as I do almost every day) was to take flower pots out of kiln.  Inside of the kiln was 870 degrees C, so I needed to be armed with fire-proof gear.  Am I crazy?  It is up to you to decide what you think I am🙂 but in earlier times, women worked until the moment labour started.  Besides, who can tell me that I will definitely have tomorrow?  Who can guarantee that I will survive childbirth?  If I live, I will be able to restart glass making some day, but at least for some time I will have to stop it after my son arrives.  I am the only one who is responsible for fulfilling my life and making myself happy.  …And I am absolutely blessed that I still can do what I really need to do.

By the way, congratulations, President Obama!

Written by chiekot

November 5, 2008 at 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

