Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

Daigo

with 4 comments

“You should not think there is someone who can teach and guide your study in this world.  If there is a such person, what you want to do is not worth you do”

This is what a teacher told Chizuko Ueno, a professor of gender and sexuality studies in Tokyo University, when she was a post-grad student.  When she was young, she could not imagine that she would be able to earn her bread with “gender studies”.  She is now the most famous Japanese professor in this field.

Recently several people told me, “you are the first person in my 6 years’ career to do this” or “you are the first person in this glass department to do this”.

What am I going to do?  Well, I will give birth a baby soon and continue studying full-time at least this semester.

Tagami Daigo

Daigo - 20 weeks

This is my son Daigo.  Daigo is a term of Zen Buddhism and it means “final and absolute enlightenment”.  He will be born this November.  I thought that there should have been several women who became pregnant during their study, as there are a lot of mature age students.  I also heard about someone who gave birth only two weeks after her graduation.  But it may be true that I am the first international student in School of Art who is going to have a baby during the study. 

I do not know if I could become a pioneer of the art glass world, but probably not too many people would choose what I chose.  This may be far more important than to become a famous artist – accepting the fate and taking full responsibility.  I hope that my choice and the way I live will give good influence to Daigo.  I am so glad that Daigo chose me as his mother.

Written by chiekot

July 21, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Posted in art, life

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Chieko,
    As I said before, I think Daigo is a a great name and I’ll be so happy to meet him in the not so distant future. I guess he might be a kind of muse and inspiration for your artwork and it will be interesting to see what you produce. I admire you a lot and I think that if anyone can do what you are about to do you can! I wish you all the best from this far away Perth town
    lots of luv to u both
    お元気でね
    xo

    sakuralice

    July 27, 2008 at 12:47 pm

  2. Hi Sakura,

    Thanks for your lovely comment. I missed you last week at Web Art and Theory class… you must be enjoying yourself now in Perth! Hope you have chance to visit me and Daigo in Canberra or some place in the world.

    Lots of love and hug back!

    chiekot

    July 27, 2008 at 4:45 pm

  3. I just came back to Japan from Ireland.
    I got lovely from you!!
    It will become true that you said “I will be ‘Saishoku- Kenbo'”.

    It’s fantastic and absolutely lovely.

    I wanna meet you and him soon and hug.

    I hope you get
    what you want
    when you want it.

    ena xxx

    ena

    July 28, 2008 at 2:58 am

  4. Hi Ena chan,

    Nice to have a comment from you! It is quite a surprise, isn’t it? I finally got a dance partner🙂 Yes, in fact I anticipated that it would happen, only I did not know when and how…

    How was Ireland? I am sure you had great time as always! Hope to c u soon and your every wish will come true, too.

    Love

    chiekot

    July 28, 2008 at 9:24 am


Leave a Reply

