Chieko Tagami’s Weblog

Overcoming obstacles

leave a comment »

book last lectureBefore writing about my project, I would like to introduce a book “The last lecture” by Randy Pausch.  He was a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon and was diagnosed with terminal cancer.  He gave his last lecture about “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams”.  It was a lecture also for his three children. 

 

He said, “When there was an obstacle on the way to achieve my dream, I always told this to myself.  There is a reason why the brick wall is standing in front of me.  It is not there to hinder me.  It is there to prove how much I wish to achieve something behind the wall.”

 

Failure to make molds is not my obstacle at all.  There seem to be several higher and thicker brick walls in front of me.  But maybe they are not my true obstacle, either.  My true obstacle lies in myself.  It keeps screaming that with this situation, it is impossible that I continue my study, my practice, and to realize what inside my head.  However, do I really have to give up what I always wanted since when I was child?  Yes, there are difficulties ahead of me but it is not like me to see things negatively. 

 

“Problem is your valuable friend.  Without problem, there are no light and shadow.  Problem makes distinction between important things and unimportant things clearer.”

  

I think that knowing “our lives will end one day and it could be any minite” would make “what matters most” clearer.  I feel it strongly especially because I could have died when I was hit by a car driving with 80 km/hr in the Netherlands.  I flied 5 meter and my bike was completely crushed.  I survived and live my second and probably the last chance.  It was one of the best lessons I have got.  Before the time is over, we have to think what the most important thing is in our lives.   

Written by chiekot

June 11, 2008 at 11:02 am

Posted in art, life

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

